[Fall]ing A Little Better

Falling falling

And it’s all really pretty

But sometimes there’s pain and it

Doesn’t know where to settle

I’m blinking with one eye open

Sometimes it’s hard to look

But eventually I need to fly to it

With an open chest and a tiny hook

Wrapped around in fish line

I’m supposed to choose what to keep

But I’m more often weaker than I’d imagined

And I let words into my ears

Creep

They are like whispers

Or maybe more quiet

Quieter quieter

Falling falling

Pity and sadness and I don’t know where else there is rust

But new pages are nigh

Look! They are about to be turned!

Take a breath I might say and shut it all out

You’re not doing this for her

Or him or her or her or him

This is for you and your Lord

The most selfish of bonds oscillating,

Escalating

Just worship and breathe

Just fall your pretty fall and breathe

It’s not as bad as it seems anyway

15 thoughts on “[Fall]ing A Little Better

      1. I truly understand about the business of life! I also haven’t found as time as I’ve had before to post. Rachel, congratulations! That is a huge milestone and I can’t wait to read it off of the bookshelves. I watched your video that explained a little about the plot and I can’t tell you how interesting it sounds. Please, if you need a third eye I would be so honored.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh thank you so much. I promised myself I would let go and share my actual progress more in 2017. To tell you the truth, I’ve been disappointed with the quality of my writing and I truly feel I need more practice. I would love to have you be an early reader. I can’t tell you how much that means to me.โค

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Ah, I felt the same way after completing my manuscript, I think it might be a part of every writer’s worst nightmare. I’m sure you have done a splendid job! Please, whenever you’d like to send it let me know and I can give you my email ๐Ÿ™‚ best of luck!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

